The Biggest Loser

image (1)Timmy Lincecum (9) is currently two losses away from league leader Cole Hamels (11) now and if he finishes first in losses he will join Steve Carlton and Orel Hershiser as the only Cy Young Award winners with two seasons as the league leader in losses.

Zack Greinke, Barry Zito, LaMarr Hoyt, Denny McLain, Justin Verlander, Brandon Webb, Tom Glavine, Steve Carlon, Doug Drabek, and Vida Blue have all won the CYA and all led the league in losses. McLain leads with 22 losses in one year.

Knucksie Phil Neikro had a season where he led the league in wins and losses, at 21-20. He also reached the HOF despite leading the league in losses four straight years. Phil never won a CYA, but he once finished 2nd.

Funny enough, the career leader in losses is the man himself, Cy Young, who led the league in losses only once, in 1906.



  1. Photobooth

    I do not even know the way I finished up here, but I thought this put up used to be great. I do not understand who you might be however definitely you are going to a famous blogger in the event you are not already. Cheers!

    • thefantasypronk

      Thanks, that’s nice to hear. I am by no means famous, or even close to the best contributor to this blog. Please be sure to give us a follow and share us with anyone you think might enjoy us as well.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s